Sean Hughes: Comedian, actor and writer dies aged 51


Hard to believe that somebody so young could die of a heart attack.

The BBC website summed it up –

In 1990, Sean Hughes – then 24 – became the youngest person to win the coveted Perrier Award – now known as the Edinburgh Comedy Award – at the Edinburgh Festival.

“I was told that I had won the Perrier award as I walked off stage after another sweaty performance,” Hughes later wrote in The Guardian. “The judging panel rushed on to the stage to congratulate me.

“‘Will it go to his head?’. I doubt it. If the panel had made it 10 minutes earlier, they would have seen two people walking out of my award-winning show.”

Nica Burns, director of the awards, remembered him as “a huge talent” and “a very good writer” who had “instinctive timing from day one”.

RIP

sean hughs

This entry was posted in Comment, Entertainment, Health, News, Society and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.